This is the "Canada" page of the "Aboriginal Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Aboriginal Studies  

Last Updated: Jan 9, 2012 URL: http://stfx.libguides.com/aboriginal Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Canada Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books in the Library

The call number range E 50 - E 175 (books, reference and journals) applies to the Aboriginal Peoples of North America. Since the "E" section is mainly for History, you'll see that books will show up in other areas as well, such as Sociology, Education, etc.

The GN 380 call number area (part of the social and cultural anthropology area) contains texts about indigenous peoples.

REFERENCE BOOKS:

MacMillan Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes E 76.2 J64 1999 (Reference section, 1st floor)

Native America in the Twentieth Century: an EncyclopediaE 76.2 N36 (Reference section, 1st floor)

Statistical Record of Native North AmericaE 98 P76 P73 (Reference section, 1st floor)

Encyclopedia of Canada's Peoples FC 104 E52 (Reference section, 1st floor) - published in 1999

Handbook of North American IndiansE77 H25 (Reference section, 1st floor) - multi-volume set; vol. 2 (published in 2008) deals with contemporary issues and includes comprehensive entries about Canada

 

Journals at the Library

Canadian Journal of Native Studies: 2005 to present online in ProQuest. Some earlier issues available in print -- E 78 C2 C3 (2nd floor).

American Indian Quarterly: 1974 to present available online

Studies in American Indian Literatures: 2004 to present available online

Wicazo Sa Review: 1985 to present available online

American Indian Law Review: 1973-2007 available online

 

Media and Multimedia

Aboriginal Canada Portal: Provides a link to a number of aboriginal publications including journals, newspapers, newsletters, etc.

Sample of Aboriginal Newspapers available at StFX:

The Eastern Door: Print copies from 1992 - 2004 (v.1 - 13). Some years are incomplete.  See Access Services Desk to request copies for viewing.

Mikmaq Maliseet Nations News:

Windspeaker:

 

Reference Sources (Online)

The Indigenous Studies Portal at the University of Saskatchewan *is an excellent index* that allows you to limit your search to scholarly articles. You can then search for the journal title at StFX to locate the article.

Aboriginal Perspectives: A site that features documentaries from the National Film Board of Canada by and about Aboriginal Peoples.

Encyclopedia of Canada's Peoples / Multicultural Canada 

Library and Archives Canada's Aboriginal Resources page

CBC News: Aboriginal Canadians

 

Government Documents

• View and search the complete 1996 Royal Commission Report on Aboriginal Peoples (Canada) online

• Search for provincial and federal documents using Carleton University's search tool

• Some data is available in Statistics Canada's Aboriginal Peoples Technical Report, 2006 Census

 

New Books in the Library

Emerging Services & Liaison Librarian

Profile Image
Suzanne van den Hoogen
Contact Info
Angus L. Macdonald Library
Saint Francis Xavier University
Antigonish, NS
B2G 2W5

Phone: 902-867-4535
FAX: 902-867-5153
Send Email
 

Legal Aspects

• For records of Canadian court cases, go to http://www.canlii.org

Indian Claims Commission

 

Fiction

NorQuest college maintains a comprehensive bibliography of Canadian Aboriginal authors reflected in their collection

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip