Business

• Improve your writing skills

                                                                                              • Learn study skills

Book an appointment: 902-867-5221 or online

Visit the Academic Success Centre

You can import references into RefWorks from most article databases. Here are some instructions for importing from some of the business databases.

ABI/Inform

• While searching ABI/Inform database, mark some records by placing a check mark next to the records you wish to save.
• Click "Export" from the menu above the list of results
• Click  "Export directly to RefWorks"
• Click "View Last Imported Folder" and move the records to the folder for your project or course.

Business Source Complete

• While searching Business Source Complete, click on "Add to Folder" link for the desired records
• At the top of the search page, click "Folder" to view the selected records
• Place a check mark beside the records you wish to export, or choose "Select all"
• Click on "Export" from the menu at the right
• Select "RefWorks"
• Click "View Last Imported Folder" and move the records to the folder for your project or course.

The Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab) is a wonderful resource when formatting papers and citations in APA and MLA styles.  Check with your professor to see which style is preferred.

Note:  In April 2013 the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants and the The Society of Management Accountants of Canada merged to become the Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada, now the corporate publisher of the CPA Canada Handbook, formerly the CICA Handbook.  For references taken from the Handbook prior to 2013 use the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants as the name of the corporate publisher and CICA Handbook as the name of the book.

APA Format

Reference list

In the bibiliography if you have used a number of sections within the book and wish to reference the whole book use the format:  

Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada. (date). CPA Canada Handbook. Retrieved from CPA Canada Standards and Guidance Collection.   

For example,

Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada. (2013, August). CPA Canada Handbook. Retrieved from CPA Canada Standards and Guidance Collection.

If you only used a section of the Handbook and wish to reference that section in the bibliography use the format:  Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada. (date). Section title. In CPA Canada Handbook. Retrieved from CPA Canada Standards and Guidance Collection.  

For example,

Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada. (2013, July).  Accounting standards:  Specific items:  Section 3465: Income taxes. In CPA Canada Handbook. Retrieved from CPA Canada Standards and Guidance Collection.

or

Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada. (2013, August). Public sector accounting standards:  concepts & principles: Sections PS 1000 – PS 1300. In CPA Canada Handbook. Retrieved from CPA Canada Standards and Guidance Collection.

or 

Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada. (2016, January).  Accounting:  Part 1- International Financial Reporting Standards:  2016 Edition: IAS 17 Leases. In CPA Canada Handbook. Retrieved from CPA Canada Standards and Guidance Collection.

In Text citation

When citing the section in the text use the title, and the paragraph to identify where the quote came from.  The first citation should spell out the name of the CPA. In subsequent citations you can use the abbreviation.

Examples,

According to the CPA Canada Handbook (2013) "Government financial statements serve the interests of a variety of users" (Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada [CPA], 2013, para. PS 1000.14).

"Government financial statements serve the interests of a variety of users" (CPA, 2013,  para. PS 1000.14).

"Separate measurement of the land and buildings elements is not required when the lessee's interest in both land and buildings is classified as an investment property in accordance with IAS 40 and the fair value model is adopted." (CPA, 2016, para. IAS 17.18).

MLA Format

Reference list

In the works cited list if you have used a number of sections and wish to reference the whole book use the format:  

Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada. CPA Canada Handbook. Toronto: Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada, date. CPA Canada Standards and Guidance Collection. Web. date retrieved.   

For example,

Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada. CPA Canada Handbook. Toronto: Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada. Aug. 2013. CPA Canada Standards and Guidance Collection. Web. 28 Aug. 2013.

If you only used a section/standard of the Handbook and wish to reference that section in the bibliography use the format:  

“Section Title.” CPA Canada Handbook. Toronto: Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada. date. CPA Canada Standards and Guidance Collection. Web. date retrieved.

For example,

“Public Sector Accounting Standards:  Concepts & Principles: Sections PS 1000 – PS 1300.” CPA Canada Handbook. Toronto: Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada. Aug. 2013. CPA Canada Standards and Guidance Collection. Web. 28 Aug. 2013

In text citation

When citing the CPA Canada Handbook in the text of your paper. The citation should lead easily to the source in the reference list. It is ok to use an well known abbreviation for a corporate author, such as CPA for Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada. You can use a shortened version of a title as long as you begin with the first word in the alphabetized reference list.

Examples:

According to the CPA Canada Handbook "A significant or prolonged decline in the fair value of an investment below its carrying value is evidence of an other-than-temporary loss in value of an investment” (Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada par. 3051.20).

"A significant or prolonged decline in the fair value of an investment below its carrying value is evidence of an other-than-temporary loss in value of an investment" (CPA par. 3051.20).

“Users look to financial statement information as a principal means of determining whether the public resources entrusted to the government were administered in accordance with legislative authorities” (“Public Sector,” par. 1100.60)

APA Style refers to guidelines developed by the American Psychological Association for authors. The APA style uses an author-date system of citation, in which brief citations within the text direct the reader to the corresponding entries in the reference list at the end of the paper. The entries in this list provide the full publication information for the sources used for the paper, allowing readers to trace these sources for their own use.

For more information, please see the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association which is available in the Library Reference collection.

You can also find more information, including examples of citations, in our library Help files.

Chicago style refers to guidelines developed by the University of Chicago Press for documenting sources cited in a paper. The Chicago style includes guidelines for two different systems of citing sources. The first, most often used by humanities disciplines, uses notes (either footnotes or endnotes) which usually point to entries in a bibliography at the end of the paper. The second, most often used in the physical, natural and social sciences, uses author-date citations in the text of the paper, with corresponding entries in a reference list.

For more information, you can consult the Chicago Manual of Style Online or the print Chicago Manual of Style which is available in the Library Reference collection.

You can also find more information, including examples of citations, in our library Help files.

MLA style refers to guidelines developed by the Modern Languages Association for documenting sources cited in a paper. The MLA style is widely used in humanities disciplines. It uses a two-part system, in which brief in-text citations point to corresponding entries in a reference list or bibliography at the end of the paper. The entries in the alphabetical reference list provide the complete publication information for each source cited in the paper. This information allows readers to trace sources for their own use.

For more information on MLA Style, see the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. The Handbook is available online, and a print copy is available in the Library Reference collection.

You can also find more information, including examples of citations, in our library Help files.