LibGuides: Economics: Find Articles

Key Economics Databases

The databases listed below are the best places to start looking for articles related to Economics.

EconPapers
Free online database of economics-related articles, working papers, etc. Searches the RePEc archive (at University of Connecticut). Largely full-text.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to articles from 1,700 Elsevier journals covering the subject areas of science, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from 1,688 peer-reviewed business journals; more than 10,000 other sources; company profiles, country economic reports, industry reports, market research reports, SWOT analyses, videos.
American Economic Association This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the journals of the American Economic Association.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs This link opens in a new window
Index to articles in >700 Canadian magazines and newspapers. Includes company, product and industry information; international, national, provincial & local news.

Other Databases

ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
This is the previous 'ProQuest' database in this list. As of March 2021, it is also included in the larger ProQuest Central database.
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Huge multidisciplinary index of articles in over 8,500 Social Sciences journals.
* Direct export to RefWorks
* Click 'Get It at StFX' icon to check for full text
* Citation tracking
* French content
* German content
* Gaelic content
* Spanish content
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Huge collection of full-text articles from over 1,500 journals in many subject areas (e.g. life sciences, chemical sciences, geosciences, computer sciences, mathematics, physics & astronomy, engineering, environmental sciences, economics).
Taylor & Francis Journals Online (informaworld) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from journals in: Arts & Humanities; Business & Management; Economics & Econometrics; Education; Geography; Social Sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of scholarly journals in multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections.
Tip: Use 'Advanced Search' to limit to the subject collections appropriate to your search.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Over 1.5 million scholarly articles relating to scientific research as well as many humanities and social science disciplines.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Nearly 500 Economic Journals included as well as country economic reports

Depending on the nature of your topic, you may also wish to consult the Subject Research Guides for History or Political Science if you want to include sources from those areas.

You can also view our full list of Electronic Resources.

Search Google Scholar

Don't Pay: Get full text articles in Google Scholar

Look for the “Check for full text @ X” link next to each result. Use that link to get the full text via the Library’s subscriptions.

Configure your Google Scholar account

Link your Google account to StFX, so the “Check for full text @ X” links will always appear – even if you don’t start your search from this page. Go to our customized settings screen and click Save. If you’re logged into a Google account, it will remember that setting from now on.

» What is Google Scholar?
» How do I search Google Scholar?

How to Request Books and Articles through Document Delivery in Novanet

This short video shows how to order books or articles from another library using Novanet, the Library Catalogue.