LibGuides: English: Find Articles

Article Databases and Indexes

These are the best places to start looking for articles in English. You can also see our full list of Databases.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of books, book chapters, articles, and selected dissertations on the following topics: literature, language, folklore, linguistics. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
* Direct export to RefWorks
* Click 'Get It at StFX' icon to check for full text
* French content
* German content
* Gaelic content
* Spanish content
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to articles in over 250 scholarly journal titles in the arts, humanities and social sciences from 40 university and society presses.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of scholarly journals in multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections.
Tip: Use 'Advanced Search' to limit to the subject collections appropriate to your search.
World Shakespeare Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The World Shakespeare Bibliography Online provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced between 1960 and the present. The scope is international, with coverage extending to more than 120 languages and representing every country in North America, South America, and Europe, and nearly every country in Asia, Africa, and Australasia.
Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
This biographical guide to writers provides reliable information on authors and their works while placing them in the larger perspective of literary history. The database includes the 300+ volumes of the regular series, the Documentary series and the Yearbook series.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text back issues of key academic journals in the humanities and social sciences. International in scope, with 500 full-run titles spanning 200 years.
Oxford Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles in >150 Oxford University Press journals, covering a broad range of subject areas.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford's landmark authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium.
The online version contains two separate texts, the complete Second Edition (including the Additions Series) and the New Edition – a work in progress. Hundreds of new entries are added every year, and serious logophiles can sign up to receive the OED "Word of the Day!"
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
This is the previous 'ProQuest' database in this list. As of March 2021, it is also included in the larger ProQuest Central database.
Medieval Travel Writing This link opens in a new window
Extensive collection of manuscript materials for the study of medieval travel writing in fact and in fantasy. The main focus is accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China.
* Primary sources
* Full text articles
* French content
* German content
* Spanish content
Eighteenth Century Journals I & II This link opens in a new window
Rare journals printed between 1693 and 1799 illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life.
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
Streamed video of definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with film documentaries. Contains 242 titles, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.
* Primary sources
* Video files
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Huge multidisciplinary index of articles in over 8,500 journals, from 1989 to the present. (Includes: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index)
ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window
Four core multidisciplinary products (ProQuest Central, ProQuest Ebook Central, Academic Video Online, and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global), cross-searchable together on the ProQuest platform. Provides unified access to journals, e-books, dissertations, news, and video.

Open Access Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals: Languages and Literatures

The Directory of Open Access Journals provides free online access to a number of scholarly journals; many of these are peer-reviewed.

Digital Studies / Le champ numérique

Digital Studies is a peer-reviewed open access journal for scholars in the Digital Humanities.

Borrowers and Lenders: the Journal of Shakespeare and Appropriation

Borrowers and Lenders is a peer-reviewed, open access, multimedia journal for Shakespeare studies.

Search Google Scholar

Don't Pay: Get full text articles in Google Scholar

Look for the “Check for full text @ X” link next to each result. Use that link to get the full text via the Library’s subscriptions.

Configure your Google Scholar account

Link your Google account to StFX, so the “Check for full text @ X” links will always appear – even if you don’t start your search from this page. Go to our customized settings screen and click Save. If you’re logged into a Google account, it will remember that setting from now on.

» What is Google Scholar?
» How do I search Google Scholar?

How to Find Articles in Novanet

This short video shows how to find articles in Novanet, the Library Catalogue.