LibGuides: English: Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and More

Online Reference Sources

Here are some online dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks for English research. You can also find useful resources in our two databases of electronic reference sources:

Credo Reference: An online reference collection of dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, atlases & quotations; plus subject-specific titles on large range of topics.

and

Gale Ebooks : A variety of current encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks, as well as other sources, in a broad number of fields.

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford's landmark authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium.
The online version contains two separate texts, the complete Second Edition (including the Additions Series) and the New Edition – a work in progress. Hundreds of new entries are added every year, and serious logophiles can sign up to receive the OED "Word of the Day!"
Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
This biographical guide to writers provides reliable information on authors and their works while placing them in the larger perspective of literary history. The database includes the 300+ volumes of the regular series, the Documentary series and the Yearbook series.

Dictionary of Canadianisms on Historical Principles
This is an open-access dictionary of Canadian words and terms, showing the history of each item and how its usage has changed over time.

Print Reference Sources

Reference books are located on the Main Floor near the Reference Desk.

Encyclopedia of Contemporary LGBTQ Literature of the United States
Call Number: PS153 .S39 E53 2009
ISBN: 9780313348594
Cambridge Guide to Literature in English
Call Number: PR85 .C29 2006
ISBN: 9780521831796
Encyclopedia of Feminist Literature
Call Number: PN471 .W455 2004
ISBN: 9780313327315
Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures in English
Call Number: PR9080 .A52 E53 2005