LibGuides: Physics: Find Articles

Article Databases and Indexes

These are the best places to start looking for articles in Physics. You can also see our full list of Electronic Resources.

American Physical Society This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from the American Physical Society's research journals. With articles all the way back to the founding of the Physical Review in 1893.
* Indirect Export to RefWorks.
GSW - GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of research and communications in the geosciences. Peer-reviewed articles linked and inter-operable with GeoRef.
* Direct export to RefWorks
* Full text articles
IoP - Institute of Physics Electronic Journals This link opens in a new window
IoP covers 34 physics related journals. Also included are 10 years of full-text coverage and 31 years of abstract coverage.
* Indirect export to RefWorks
* Full text articles
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of scholarly journals in multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections.
Tip: Use 'Advanced Search' to limit to the subject collections appropriate to your search.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940.
* Indirect export to RefWorks
* Full text articles
CSP (Canadian Science Publishing) Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the 23 journals published by Canadian Science Publishing. (Formerly NRC Research Press Journals)
* Full text articles
Oxford Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles in >150 Oxford University Press journals, covering a broad range of subject areas.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to articles from 1,700 Elsevier journals covering the subject areas of science, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Huge collection of full-text articles from over 1,500 journals in many subject areas (e.g. life sciences, chemical sciences, geosciences, computer sciences, mathematics, physics & astronomy, engineering, environmental sciences, economics).
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Huge multidisciplinary index of articles in over 8,500 journals, from 1989 to the present. (Includes: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index)
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Over 1.5 million scholarly articles relating to scientific research as well as many humanities and social science disciplines.

Print & Electronic Journals for Physics

The library still subscribes to a few print journals in Physics in addition to hundreds of electronic-only titles. Here is a list of the print journals, along with links to several available also in electronic format. See the Article Databases and Indexes at the top middle of this page for a way to find many others in electronic format.

Advances in Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics
American Journal of Physics
Journal of the Optical Society of America
Physics in Canada
Sky and Telescope
Solid State Physics

Search Google Scholar

Don't Pay: Get full text articles in Google Scholar

Look for the “Check for full text @ X” link next to each result. Use that link to get the full text via the Library’s subscriptions.

Configure your Google Scholar account

Link your Google account to StFX, so the “Check for full text @ X” links will always appear – even if you don’t start your search from this page. Go to our customized settings screen and click Save. If you’re logged into a Google account, it will remember that setting from now on.

» What is Google Scholar?
» How do I search Google Scholar?