LibGuides: Nursing: Find Articles

Key Databases

These are the best places to start looking for articles related to Nursing.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is best for your quick clinical searches. Use this interface to search the MEDLINE database quickly. Use the filters on the left to limit your results.
* Includes some full text articles
* French content
* German content
* Spanish content

Tip: Knowledge of PubMed's MESH headings can vastly improve search results. Please ask for help at the Reference Desk.

Trip Medical Database
Open-source medical search engine designed to provide evidence for clinical decision-making. In Trip you will find: summaries, clinical practice guidelines, article citations, images, videos, patient information leaflets, and more! Think of Trip as Google for health information. Use the color coded filter on the left to filter results according to type.

CINAHL (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search CINAHL for articles in nursing and allied health (audiology, nutrition & dietetics, occupational, physical & respiratory therapy, speech-language pathology, consumer health). It is a great spot to find nursing specific literature.
* Direct export to RefWorks
* Full text articles
* Click 'Get It at StFX' icon to check for full text
* Citation tracking
* Spanish content
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Search Medline (aka almost the same content as PubMed which stands for PUblic MEDline) on the Ovid interface (this link!) for your comprehensive, structured literature searches
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Search here if you are looking for Systematic Reviews or Randomized Controlled Trials (RCTs)
* Full text articles
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Search here for citations related to psychology. PsycINFO is also a great spot to find citations for qualitative studies.

See here for a full list of our databases

How to Search PubMed: The Basics

CINAHL Search Help

Complete Structured Searching in CINAHL Series
Video made by University of Toronto Libraries

What is Peer Review

Search Google Scholar

Don't Pay: Get full text articles in Google Scholar

Look for the “Check for full text @ X” link next to each result. Use that link to get the full text via the Library’s subscriptions.

Configure your Google Scholar account

Link your Google account to StFX, so the “Check for full text @ X” links will always appear – even if you don’t start your search from this page. Go to our customized settings screen and click Save. If you’re logged into a Google account, it will remember that setting from now on.

» What is Google Scholar?
» How do I search Google Scholar?