LibGuides: Aquatic Resources: Find Articles

Article Databases and Indexes

These are the best places to start looking for articles in Aquatic Resources. You can also see our full list of Electronic Resources.

CSP (Canadian Science Publishing) Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the 23 journals published by Canadian Science Publishing. (Formerly NRC Research Press Journals)
* Full text articles
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of scholarly journals in multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections.
Tip: Use 'Advanced Search' to limit to the subject collections appropriate to your search.
Oxford Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles in >150 Oxford University Press journals, covering a broad range of subject areas.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
This is the previous 'ProQuest' database in this list. As of March 2021, it is also included in the larger ProQuest Central database.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of articles from the biomedical and life sciences. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
* Includes some full text articles
* French content
* German content
* Spanish content

Tip: Knowledge of PubMed's MESH headings can vastly improve search results. Please ask for help at the Reference Desk.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central is a web-based archive of journal literature for all of the life sciences. It is being developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). With PubMed Central, NCBI is taking the lead in preserving and maintaining open access to the literature in electronic form, just as NLM has done for decades with the printed biomedical literature.
* Full text articles
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 460 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to articles from 1,700 Elsevier journals covering the subject areas of science, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Huge collection of full-text articles from over 1,500 journals in many subject areas (e.g. life sciences, chemical sciences, geosciences, computer sciences, mathematics, physics & astronomy, engineering, environmental sciences, economics).
Taylor & Francis Journals Online (informaworld) This link opens in a new window
Recent (1997+) full-text articles from journals in the following areas: Arts and Humanities; Business and Management; Economics and Econometrics; Education; Geography and Social Sciences.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Huge multidisciplinary index of articles in over 8,500 journals, from 1989 to the present. (Includes: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index)
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Over 1.5 million scholarly articles relating to scientific research as well as many humanities and social science disciplines.

Search Google Scholar

Don't Pay: Get full text articles in Google Scholar

Look for the “Check for full text @ X” link next to each result. Use that link to get the full text via the Library’s subscriptions.

Configure your Google Scholar account

Link your Google account to StFX, so the “Check for full text @ X” links will always appear – even if you don’t start your search from this page. Go to our customized settings screen and click Save. If you’re logged into a Google account, it will remember that setting from now on.

» What is Google Scholar?
» How do I search Google Scholar?

Key Journals in Full Text

Professional/Scholarly Aquatic Resources Journals available in fulltext:

Aquaculture

Fisheries Research

ICES Journal of Marine Science

Journal of Environmental Management

Marine Policy

Nature

Ocean & Coastal Management

Water Research

How to Request Books and Articles through Document Delivery in Novanet

This short video shows how to order books or articles from another library using Novanet, the Library Catalogue.