LibGuides: Virtual Curriculum Resource Centre: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the Curriculum Resource Centre

319B Xavier Hall

WELCOME! Check out our Search tab where you can look for specific resources or feel free to drop in to have a look around and have our friendly staff assist you. Don't forget to check out the e-resources and links on this site to support you in your course work assignments and field experience planning.

Hours: Mon & Wed 815am - 7pm

Tue, Thu & Fri 815am - 4pm

Contact: Allana Beaton - Curriculum Support Advisor

abeaton@stfx.ca 902-867-2272

Take a Tour of the Curriculum Resource Centre
Curriculum Support Advisor Allana Beaton takes you on a walking tour of the CRC, highlighting the variety of resources that are available.
Meet the CRC Student Workers - Faith
Meet the CRC Student Workers - Max
Meet the CRC Student Workers - Andrew
Meet the CRC Student Workers - Simon
Meet the CRC Student Workers - Grace

Mi'kmaw Collection

Piktol Learns to Fish
Kalolin Loves Nitap Day
Antle Goes to a Powwow
Mi'kmaw Guided Reading Sets
813.0 Book Sets
Each set includes 4 books and 4 puppets to engage young learners in listening and reading.

Aliet Gathers Medicine

Treaty Ed Sprig Collection of Youtube Videos
This is a great online resource to use alongside the books and puppets

Mi'kmaw Puppet and Book Set
813.0 Book Sets
Includes 4 Books, 4 Puppets, 4 Finger Puppets:
Antle Goes to a Powwow
Piktol Learns to Fish
Kalolin Loves Nitap Day
Aliet Gathers Medicine

For The Children by Rita Joe
Call Number: 970.1 DIV CUL MIK

ISBN: 9781895415988

Publication Date: 2008

A collection of Mi'kmaw Elder and Order of Canada recipient Rita Joe's poems for children. These inspiring poems are accompanied by images of Cape Breton artist Burland Murphy's woodcuts.
L' Nu'k: the People by Theresa Meuse
Call Number: 970.1 DV CUL MIK Meu Th

ISBN: 9781771084529

Publication Date: 2016-12-19

This valuable educational resource is suitable for all ages. Meuse offers practical knowledge and guidance on traditional practices such as birchbark canoe building and smudging ceremonies. A must have Mi'kmaw resource for every classroom.
Language of This Land Mi'kma'ki by Trudy Sable (Artist); Roger Lewis; Bernie Francis (Volume Editor)
Call Number: 970.1 DIV CUL MIK

ISBN: 9781897009499

Publication Date: 2012-03-01

This book focuses on the way the Mi'kmaw language has shaped their history, relationship with the land, and the lineage that Elders pass along. very local Nova Scotia perspective, suitable for high school and university aged students.
Mi'Kmaq of the East Coast by Robert M. Leavitt
Call Number: 970.1 DV CUL MIK Lea Mi

ISBN: 1550414690

Publication Date: 2000-02-15

A thorough and practical classroom guide to Mi'kmaw culture, traditions, and history.

Mi'kmaw Online Resources

L'nu Affairs Government of Canada
This link includes various links to valuable Mi'kmaw educational resources.
Mi'kmaq History Month
Mi'kmawey Debert Cultural Centre
Mi'kmaw Kina'matnewey
Mikwite’tmek, We Remember | Parks Canada and Mi’kmawey Debert Cultural Centre
Netukulimk
Nova Scotia Museum Lesson Plans - The Gaels and The Mi'kmaw
Pkwiman Wild Blueberry Resource
Tepi'keteuk Mik'maw Archives

Truth & Reconciliation Collection

I'm Finding My Talk by Rebecca Thomas; Pauline Young (Illustrator)
Call Number: 813 LOCAL & DV CUL Tho Im

ISBN: 9781771088114

Publication Date: 2019-11-13

Award-winning spoken artist and Mi'kmaw activist Rebecca Thomas creates a wonderful companion picture book to Rita Joe's famous poem, "I Lost My Talk, I'm Finding My Way".
Indian Horse by Richard Wagamese
Call Number: 813.0 NOVEL SETS Wag In

ISBN: 9781553654025

Publication Date: 2019

* includes DVD, Study Guide, Access to Online Learning Modules
Selected as part of the Canada Reads 2013 Book Selections, this novel is a heartbreaking story that takes the reader into the hardships of a boy growing up in a residential school. The CRC holds 18 copies, a study guide, and access to learning modules to assist teachers in incorporating this text as part of their classroom planning.
Indian School Road by Chris Benjamin
Call Number: 970.5 DIV CUL RES SCH

ISBN: 9781771082136

Publication Date: 2014

In this book award winning author Chris Benjamin explores the controversial and tragic history of Nova Scotia's Shubenacadie Indian Residential School. He carefully integrates archival research, interviews, and testimonies from students, principals, and teachers over the school's forty years of operation.
Muinji'j Asks Why by Shanika MacEachern; Breighlynn MacEachern; Zeta Paul (Illustrator)
Call Number: 970.1 DV CUL MIK Mac Mu

ISBN: 9781774710470

Publication Date: 2022-01-04

An honest book with brilliant artwork inspired by Muinji'j MacEachern's true story. This will help young learners understand history and open the path for conversation and reflection.
Out of the Depths, 4th Edition by Isabelle Knockwood
Call Number: 970.5 DIV CUL RES SCH

ISBN: 9781552667293

Publication Date: 2015-04-02

Isabelle Knockwood attended the Shubenacadie Indian Residential School for eleven years. In this newly updated 4th edition, she offers the firsthand experiences of twenty-seven survivors and their reaction to the apology by the Canadian Government in 2008.
This Place by Kateri Akiwenzie-Damm; Sonny Assu; Brandon Mitchell; Rachel Qitsualik-Tinsley; Sean Qitsualik-Tinsley; David A. Robertson; Niigaanwewidam James Sinclair; Jen Storm (Illustrator); Richard Van Camp; Katherena Vermette; Chelsea Vowel; Tara Audibert (Illustrator); Kyle Charles (Illustrator); G. M. B. Chomichuk (Illustrator); Natasha Donovan (Illustrator); Scott B. Henderson (Illustrator); Andrew Lodwick (Illustrator); Scott A. Ford (Illustrator); Donovan Yaciuk (Illustrator); Alicia Elliott (Foreword by); Ryan Howe (Illustrator)
Call Number: 813.0 NOVEL SETS Aki Th

ISBN: 9781553797586

Publication Date: 2019-04-30

This award winning graphic novel is an essential book for students and teachers to learn, reflect, and create change. The CRC holds 8 copies so that this resource can be used in classrooms in literary circles or novel studies.There is also a Teacher's Guide that can be used to develop lessons and guide conversations.
This Place 150 Years Retold Teacher Guide
Call Number: 813.0 NOVEL SETS TEACHER GUIDE Aki Th

ISBN: 9781553798811

This guide includes activities that are collaborative and designed to infuse Indigenous pedagogical practices throughout. This practical guides includes lessons for grades 9-12 but are adaptable to younger students.
Truth and Conviction by L. Jane McMillan
Call Number: 970.5 DIV CUL RES SCH Mcm Tr

ISBN: 9780774837491

Publication Date: 2021-10-21

STFX Anthropology chair Jane McMillan, Marshall's former partner, tells how Marshall's life-long battle against injustice changed Canadians' views on legal injustices and revitalized Indigenous law.
Truth and Reconciliation in Canadian Schools by Pamela Rose Toulouse
Call Number: 970.5 DV CUL RES SCH Tou Tr

ISBN: 9781553797456

Publication Date: 2018-01-25

This powerful book offers background information and practical suggestions for addressing residential schools, Indigenous cultures, and reconciliation in the P-12 classroom. Ready to use lessons makes this text a very practical resource for every teacher.
Unsettling the Settler Within by Paulette Regan; Taiaiake Alfred (Foreword by)
Call Number: 970.5 DIV CUL RES SCH Reg Un

ISBN: 9780774817783

Publication Date: 2011-01-25

A call to action, this powerful book offers all Canadians a new way to approach the important and difficult task of reconciliation and healing the wounds left by the residential school system.

Spirit Bear's Guide to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada's Calls to Action

TRC Online Resources

VIDEOS

Magit's Doll

Looking for Articles- Search Options Below

These are the best subject databases (meaning they collect articles by subject area) to start looking for articles on education related topics. You can do advanced and basic searches in these databases. You can also see our full list of Electronic Resources.

ERIC Update

The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is funded and operated by the Department of Education. As one of the world’s largest databases for educational research, ERIC provides access to a large collection of journal and non-journal literature in the field of education-related research. Editors of certain journals indexed in ERIC have received emails stating that the U.S. Department of Education will no longer include their journal in the ERIC database.

It is expected that the ERIC database will be reducing the collection by approx. 45% starting in April 24, 2025

ERIC
Index to >1.2 million journal articles and other education-related materials. ERIC is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.
Teacher Reference Center
Site covering a variety of topics of interest to teachers, such as: Continuing Education, Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development.

PubMed
For a health science & education related topics.

PsycINFO
Comprehensive index (approx. 3 million citations) to the psychology literature and the psychological aspects of related disciplines.
Sociological Abstracts
Comprehensive index of articles from journals worldwide in sociology and related disciplines (e.g. social anthropology, demography, community development, social psychology).

* Direct export to RefWorks
* Click 'Get It at StFX' icon to check for full text
* Citation tracking
Indigenous Studies Portal (USask)
The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. focusing primarily on First Nations and Aboriginals of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.

Lit Search Tool
Use this tool to walk through the steps to construct a search.

Get Libkey Nomad Now

LibKey Nomad browser extension gives you fast, one-click access to scholarly articles.

Meet Viola Desmond by Elizabeth MacLeod
Call Number: 813.0 ANS Mac Me

ISBN: 9781443163873

Publication Date: 2018

This children's book is a wonderful way to introduce young learners to the legacy of NS native Viola Desmond to inspire change makers and build inclusivity in the classroom. The unique illustrations and speech bubbles appeal to young readers and engage them in reading.
Abigail's Wish by Gloria Ann Wesley
Call Number: 813.0 ANS Wes Ab

ISBN: 9781771084406

Publication Date: 2016

This first children's picture book set in Birchtown, Nova Scotia, provides young readers with a view into Black Loyalist family life during the early years of this historic colony. This book is a great way to introduce young learners to the Black history in Nova Scotia.
If This Is Freedom by Gloria Ann Wesley
Call Number: 813.0 Wes If Novel Sets

ISBN: 9781552665718

Publication Date: 2013-09-01

Nova Scotia born author Gloria Ann Wesley crafted a historical fiction book that takes the reader into the world of a brave young couple, Black Loyalist settlers, on their quest for freedom in early Nova Scotia during a time of racial conflict. A story of love, loyalty, and forgiveness that takes the reader back to a very significant time in Nova Scotia history.
The Book of Negroes by Lawrence Hill
Call Number: 970.2 AC

ISBN: 9781554681563

Publication Date: 2007

"The Book Of Negroes" is a masterpiece, daring and impressive in its gepgraphic, historical and human reach, convincing in its narrative art and detail, necessary for imagining the real beyond the traces left by history" - The Globe and Mail
The Skin I`m In by Christopher M. Spence
Call Number: 970.2 AC Spe Sk

ISBN: 9781552660171

Publication Date: 2000-09-01

The author and educator, Christopher M. Spence, seeks to bring attention to the racial inequalities that exist for young black athletes and in mainstream education and society.

Africville Educational Kit
The CRC holds 2 Africville Educational Kits which include 3 floor maps with photo cards, bag of wooden place markers, audio CD, and a resource binder with activity ideas that link directly to Social Studies and Health outcomes in Grade 3. This kit could be adapted to support learning in all grades.
Kayak
Kayak 2024 is a wonderful support tool for teaching about Black History. It provides lots of factual and historical data presented in an appealing and easy to read layout. There are a couple of printed and bound copies available for loan in the CRC.

Applying Indigenous Research Methods by Sweeney Windchief (Editor); Timothy San Pedro (Editor)
Call Number: 370.7 Win Ap PRO DEV RESEARCH

ISBN: 9781138049062

Publication Date: 2019-01-16

In this collection of stories, Indigenous scholars focus on the importance of engaging in Indigenous Research Methodologies (IRMs) through conversations with other researchers, teachers, and community members by offering specific examples of how this approach can enhance education, social work, indigenous studies, and more.
Decolonizing Data by Jacqueline M. Quinless
Call Number: 370.7 Qui De PRO DEV RESEARCH

ISBN: 9781487523336

Publication Date: 2022-02-15

"Decolonizing Data is a valuable resource and guide to taking a decolonized approach to Indigenous research for practitioners, academics, and researchers. The book notably takes an important stance in discussing and executing allyship in Indigenous research in an important area of health and wellness. Jaqueline M. Quinless offers a unique case study that is very helpful for non-Indigenous researchers who are wanting to engage with Indigenous research in a respectful way." - Lisa Monchalin, Professor of Criminology, Kwantlen Polytechnic University
Decolonizing Methodologies by Linda Tuhiwai Smith
Call Number: 370.7 Smi De PRO DEV RESEARCH

ISBN: 9781786998132

Publication Date: 2021-06-03

"A text of broad intellectual reach and political depth, this book transforms the fields of educational research and critical epistemology." - Michelle Fine, City University of New York, USA
Destination Dissertation by Sonja K. Foss; William Waters
Call Number: 370.7 Fos De PRO DEV RESEARCH

ISBN: 9781442246133

Publication Date: 2015-10-22

"A great addition to any course that seeks to explain the the dissertation process to students. The step-by-step advice offered by Foss and Waters will help readers view the journey as one they can navigate." - Mary Madden, University of Maine
Indigenous Methodologies by Margaret Kovach
ISBN: 9781487525644

Publication Date: 2021-07-12

"Reading this second edition is like visiting with a dear friend, over a cup of tea, to recount stories, teachings, and insights. When the visit is over the friends depart after telling many favourite and new stories. In this telling and listening, the friends strengthen and stretch their bonds. With this visit, they learn powerful new teachings and are inspired with deeper research insights about doing Indigenous methodologies in good ways.' - Jo-Ann Archibald Q'um Q'um Xiem, Professor Emeritus of Educational Studies, University of British Columbia
Research Design by Patricia Leavy
Call Number: 370.7 Lea Re PRO DEV RESEARCH

ISBN: 9781462548972

Publication Date: 2022-11-30

"The second edition sets a new standard for integration of social justice, cultural, and ethical issues in research design...A "must-have" book." - Cathy A. Malchiodi, Trauma-Informed Practices and expressive Arts Therapy Institute, Louisville, Kentucky
Text As Data by Justin Grimmer; Margaret E. Roberts; Brandon M. Stewart
Call Number: 370.9 Gri Te PRO DEV RESEARCH

ISBN: 9780691207551

Publication Date: 2022-03-29

"Text as Data is a long-awaited book by an all-star team of methodologists. The explosion of textual data provides unprecedented opportunities to learn about human behavior and society at a massive scale. Through this authoritative book, Grimmer, Roberts, and Stewart lay the foundation of text analysis for students and researchers." - Kosuke Imai, author of Quantitative Social Science