Skip to Main Content

Development Studies

Recommended Websites

These websites are very useful for additional information related to international development:

  • Eldis.org -- more than 26,000 summarized documents from over 7,500 development organisations – all available free to download
  • Everything International -- Everything International (Ev-In) is intended as an electronic library of resources for faculty, students, and practitioners in the field of international business. Maintained by Business faculty at Philadelphia University.
  • Chief George Manuel Library -- Online library of texts relating to the social, political, strategic, economic, and human rights situations faced by fourth world countries and indigenous peoples.(From the Center For World Indigenous Studies).
  • Human Rights Watch -- Online access to the Human Rights Watch World Report for 2003 and earlier reports from 1997 onwards. Information on such global issues as arms, children's rights, international justice, prisons, refugees, women's rights, and to the Landmine Monitor Report for 2000.
  • IDRC (International Development Research Centre) -- Information on their research programs, resources, and to the world clock for population and arable land.The Library provides public access to development information via three databases: BIBLIO, IDRIS, and CNAF.
  • Institute for Global Communications -- Online resource for peace, human rights, and social and economic justice providing services to activists and non-governmental organizations in 130 countries. IGC also sponsors other socially and environmentally conscious Web pages such as ConflictNet, LaborNet, and EcoNet.
  • Institute of Development Studies - Knowledge Services -- reports and links on a variety of topics related to development studies
  • International Co-operative Alliance (ICA) unites, represents and serves co-operatives worldwide; includes reports and training materials
  • International Organizations and Related Information -- From the National Library, links to international organizations, constitutions of the world, treaties and international covenants, etc.
  • The New Zealand Digital Library contains links to databases of development collections including agriculture, health, environment and social issues.
  • Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development - OECD -- Provides information on the economic and social policy of its member countries. The core of original members has expanded from Europe and North America to include Japan, Australia, New Zealand, Finland, Mexico, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland and Korea. Best known for its development indicators and statistics.
  • U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) -- Lists activities of the agency and provides links to humanitarian and development activities of organizations and people around the world.
  • World Bank Group : Data by Country -- Data profiles are drawn from the World Development Indicators database, as at July 2001. The profiles cover 206 countries (181 World Bank members and 25 other economies with populations of more than 30,000) and 17 country groups. The "Country at a Glance" tables (in PDF format) each

UNITED NATIONS LINKS

  • Official Documents of the United Nations -- ODS covers all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. Older UN documents are, however, added to the system on a daily basis. ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards.
  • United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) -- The voice for the environment in the UN system.
  • United Nations Human Rights Website -- Full text of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights in over 300 languages. Information on, and links to, documents and treaties on the rights of women and of the child, the prevention of discrimination, humanitarian law, war crimes, etc.
  • United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA) --The Fund provides population assistance to developing countries. This site includes the State of World Population Report for 2002: People, Poverty and Possibilities. Previous Reports from 1996 are also available.

 


The following are specific to geographic areas:

 

AFRICA:

Africa Action - A U.S.-based organization working for political, economic and social justice in Africa. Includes access to full-text documents, and links to country-specific sites as well as those with general information about Africa .

Africa South of the Sahara - Annotated collection of resources including an extensive section on African history with a section for primary sources. Information can be searched by topic or country.

African Studies Internet Resources - Based at Columbia University, resources are organized by region & country, by organization, and by topic Also lists electronic journals and newspapers on Africa.

 

ASIA:

Asian Studies WWW Virtual Library - Information is listed under: - a) global resources including timelines of major developments, Asia-pacific live news feeds, subject bibliographies, Chinese & Japanese art history;  b) regional resources, such as south asia, east asia, south china sea;   and c) individual countries and selected areas/territories resources.  An exceptional, well maintained site.

 

LATIN AMERICA:

Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) - Searchable annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America. Reviews books, journal articles, book chapters, and conference papers in all disciplines.

LANIC : Latin American Network Information Center - Searchable collection of internet resources, listed under such headings as economy, education, government, media & communication, regional resources, science, social sciences, society & culture, sustainable development. (From the Institute of Latin American Studies, University of Texas at Austin)

 

MIDDLE EAST

Middle East Studies Internet Resources - Well maintained collection organized by region, country and such subjects as economies, languages, literatures, religions, women, etc. (Part of the Asian Studies Virtual Library, from the Middle East Studies Department, Columbia University Libraries).

Finding Grey Literature/NGO Reports

Here are some of the many sites where you will find grey literature that may be relevant to your topic.