LibGuides: Modern Languages: Find Articles

Article Databases and Indexes

These are the best places to start looking for articles in Modern Languages. You can also see our full list of Databases.

CAIRN This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of French-language social sciences and humanities periodicals in the following subject areas: history, psychology, economics, political science, sociology.
* Direct export to RefWorks
* Full text articles
* French content
Erudit This link opens in a new window
Primarily French-language collection of 59 scholarly journals, 19 e-Books, theses from the Université de Montréal and Université Laval, as well as a number of documents and research data.
* Contains some bilingual and English titles.
* Subject areas include a wide subset of social sciences, humanities and sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of scholarly journals in multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections.
Tip: Use 'Advanced Search' to limit to the subject collections appropriate to your search.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of books, book chapters, articles, and selected dissertations on the following topics: literature, language, folklore, linguistics. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
* Direct export to RefWorks
* Click 'Get It at StFX' icon to check for full text
* French content
* German content
* Gaelic content
* Spanish content
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text back issues of key academic journals in the humanities and social sciences. International in scope, with 500 full-run titles spanning 200 years.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to articles in over 250 scholarly journal titles in the arts, humanities and social sciences from 40 university and society presses.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 460 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.

Resource for Indigenous Studies

iPortal: Indigenous Studies Portal Research Tool
This portal from the University of Saskatchewan is a database of articles, ebooks. theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival photographs and documents. The primary focus of the collection is Indigenous peoples of Canada.

Key journals

There are many journals, both print and electronic, with valuable content for Modern Languages research.

These are just some of the titles available in the library:

La Nouvelle revue française
Études françaises
Revista iberoamericana
Alba de América
GEO special
AlterNative: an International Journal of Indigenous Peoples
Capilano Review - This journal often features works by Indigenous authors. Library, 2nd floor, PS 8001 C35

Open Access Journals

The Directory of Open Access Journals provides free online access to a number of scholarly journals; many of these are peer-reviewed.

Directory of Open Access Journals: Languages and Literatures

Using Citation Trails

Citation trails are a way of moving backwards and forwards in the research timeline, finding older or newer sources related to the books or articles you are using. There are a number of ways of using citation trails.

You can check the reference list, works cited list, or bibliography of a research source to find the sources which the authors used in their research. These sources might also be useful for you.
In Novanet, the library catalogue, you can use citation trail symbols which can be found in some article listings, like this one:

The first symbol, with the arrows pointing up, will lead to other sources which have cited this article. This will not be a complete list of all items which have cited this article; the system only links to sources to which we have access.

The second symbol, with the arrow pointing down, will lead to sources cited in the original article. Again, these will only be the sources to which we have access.

If you find a source listed in Google Scholar, you can use the "Cited by" tab underneath the listing to find other sources which have cited that source.
The database Web of Science includes Citations and References options for most articles, listing the sources which have cited the original article, as well as the sources cited within that article.

If you have any questions about using citation trails, please Ask a Librarian for help.

How to Find Articles in Novanet

This short video shows how to find articles in Novanet, the Library Catalogue.

Search Google Scholar

Don't Pay: Get full text articles in Google Scholar

Look for the “Check for full text @ X” link next to each result. Use that link to get the full text via the Library’s subscriptions.

Configure your Google Scholar account

Link your Google account to StFX, so the “Check for full text @ X” links will always appear – even if you don’t start your search from this page. Go to our customized settings screen and click Save. If you’re logged into a Google account, it will remember that setting from now on.

» What is Google Scholar?
» How do I search Google Scholar?