LibGuides: Human Kinetics: Find Articles

SportDiscuss

SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of articles related to sport, fitness and related disciplines. Provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre.
* Direct export to RefWorks
* Full text articles
* Click 'Get It at StFX' icon to check for full text
* French content
* German content
* Spanish content

Lit Search Tool
Use this tool to walk through the steps to construct a search.

Multidisciplinary Databases

The below databases are multidisciplinary. This means they contain articles from many different disciplines such as medicine, nursing, social sciences, history, education and political science. If you're looking for articles for a question that is multidisciplinary, meaning it's about more than 1 subject area eg. sport and business or sport and ethics then the below would be a good place to look. These are the best places to start looking for articles for topics related to the history, ethics, communications, and management of sports:

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Huge multidisciplinary index of articles in over 8,500 journals, from 1989 to the present. (Includes: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index)
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to articles from 1,700 Elsevier journals covering the subject areas of science, social sciences, arts, and humanities.

I-Portal: Indigenous Studies Portal
The I-Portal: Indigenous Studies Portal was launched by the University of Saskatchewan as a tool for faculty, students, researchers, and members of the community to access digital Indigenous studies resources. Its primary focus is on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on Indigenous peoples of other areas of the world.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of scholarly journals in multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections.
Tip: Use 'Advanced Search' to limit to the subject collections appropriate to your search.

Subject Specific Article Databases and Indexes

These are the best places to start looking for articles focusing on the health science aspects related to Human Kinetics. You can also see our full list of Electronic Resources.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from 1,688 peer-reviewed business journals; more than 10,000 other sources; company profiles, country economic reports, industry reports, market research reports, SWOT analyses, videos.
CINAHL (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Central source for full-text articles in nursing and allied health (audiology, nutrition & dietetics, occupational, physical & respiratory therapy, speech-language pathology, consumer health).
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Ovid MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide. Records start in the early 1800's and go all the way to our daily updates. Ovid MEDLINE is produced by the National Library of Medicine.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index (approx. 3 million citations) to the psychology literature and the psychological aspects of related disciplines.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of articles from the biomedical and life sciences. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
* Includes some full text articles
* French content
* German content
* Spanish content

Tip: Knowledge of PubMed's MESH headings can vastly improve search results. Please ask for help at the Reference Desk.

Search Google Scholar

Don't Pay: Get full text articles in Google Scholar

Look for the “Check for full text @ X” link next to each result. Use that link to get the full text via the Library’s subscriptions.

Configure your Google Scholar account

Link your Google account to StFX, so the “Check for full text @ X” links will always appear – even if you don’t start your search from this page. Go to our customized settings screen and click Save. If you’re logged into a Google account, it will remember that setting from now on.

» What is Google Scholar?
» How do I search Google Scholar?

AI Integrated & Mapping Search Tools

There are a lot of new discovery tools and search engines coming up that are enhanced with AI and LLMs. Some of these tools are called Retrieval Augmented Generation (RAG). To learn more about RAG systems see this blog by Determind.ai

Below discovery tools you want to explore, with a warning that you will still need to critically evaluate the results (aka, does this paper seem legit?) and any guidance or summaries they are providing (the tool-generated text can be off from compared with the actual paper). So use the below with caution at this point.

See this guide by McGill Libraries for help evaluating AI enhanced resources.

For more information on Gen AI tools and literature reviews see this online guide.

L-OVE (Living OVerview of Evidence)
L·OVE is a free-access medical evidence repository that combines AI and crowd-sourced screening to organize reviews from the Epistemonikos Database into PICO questions. It is called ‘Living’ because the content is constantly updated.

How to use:
Search by how you'd describe your population (eg. condition) & use the left menu to filter the results
Elicit
Elicit uses language models (like ChatGPT3) to search off of the question you ask and provide summaries of papers retrieved. Uses Semantic Scholar as the dataset to search on (aka the results will come from this set of 200 million English papers).

How to use:
-make an account
-type in a question
-use links on the right to add columns to the chart (warning: the text generated is Gen AI created and can vary from the actual paper)
-click on item to see more information about that citation and for the link to full-text-- Some results are not real papers, so used caution if you do not recognize the journal.
Consensus
Powered by ChatGPT4, Consensus works well to search off of yes or no questions. It will offer you a snapshot of research on this topic offering levels of agreement or disagreement. NOTE: Consensus is still in BETA (aka they are seeing IF this can work). Uses Semantic Scholar as the dataset to search.

How to use:
- type in your question (yes or no question)
- click on the item for more information (the text here is actual text from the paper)
Undermind.ai
A different type of search engine (it is slower-- aka will email you when it is ready). Undermind.ai searches on Semantic Scholar and arxiv to search.

How to use:
-Make an account
-Type in a lot of details! The more information the better
-Search and wait
-Use links to find the full-text of the articles. (use caution with some of the results, eg. critically evaluate the items)
LitMaps
Litmaps will make connections based off of citations you've already found (looks at who has cited who). It visualizes information in a list as well as a web. Uses crossref, semantic scholar and OpenAlex to search.

How to use:
-type in the article title
-Search and follow the trail of relevant articles
Perplexity
Searches the web & semantic scholar. Be careful of the summaries and view the actual results.
The Literature
Searches on PubMed only & how you ask the question (aka the input) matters. Critically reflect on the question/
more...less...
How it works: uses words from your question to create a keyword search. It will manipulate that and send it to ChatGPT to create a search query. ChatGPT will generate a query and run it in PubMed. You will then see 20-30 articles.