LibGuides: Chemistry: Find Articles

Article Databases and Indexes

These are the best places to start looking for articles in Chemistry. You can also see our full list of Electronic Resources.

American Chemical Society This link opens in a new window
Full-text content of the American Chemical Society's 25 journals.
* Direct export to RefWorks
RSC Publishing - Royal Society of Chemistry This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of 23 chemistry journals published by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Huge multidisciplinary index of articles in over 8,500 journals, from 1989 to the present. (Includes: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index)
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to articles from 1,700 Elsevier journals covering the subject areas of science, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
American Physical Society This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from the American Physical Society's research journals. With articles all the way back to the founding of the Physical Review in 1893.
* Indirect Export to RefWorks.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Huge collection of full-text articles from over 1,500 journals in many subject areas (e.g. life sciences, chemical sciences, geosciences, computer sciences, mathematics, physics & astronomy, engineering, environmental sciences, economics).
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Over 1.5 million scholarly articles relating to scientific research as well as many humanities and social science disciplines.
CSP (Canadian Science Publishing) Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the 23 journals published by Canadian Science Publishing. (Formerly NRC Research Press Journals)
* Full text articles
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of articles from the biomedical and life sciences. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
* Includes some full text articles
* French content
* German content
* Spanish content

Tip: Knowledge of PubMed's MESH headings can vastly improve search results. Please ask for help at the Reference Desk.

Print & Electronic Journals for Chemistry

Chemistry journals available in print format are located in the QD section on the 2nd floor of the library. Examples of our print journals include:

Advances in heterocyclic chemistry
Advances in physical organic chemistry
Reviews in computational chemistry

The library provides hundreds more Chemistry journals in electronic format. Search for Chemistry articles in the various databases listed under Article Database and Indexes in the center of this page. A few examples of our electronic journal titles are:

Search Google Scholar

Don't Pay: Get full text articles in Google Scholar

Look for the “Check for full text @ X” link next to each result. Use that link to get the full text via the Library’s subscriptions.

Configure your Google Scholar account

Link your Google account to StFX, so the “Check for full text @ X” links will always appear – even if you don’t start your search from this page. Go to our customized settings screen and click Save. If you’re logged into a Google account, it will remember that setting from now on.

» What is Google Scholar?
» How do I search Google Scholar?