LibGuides: Earth and Environmental Sciences: Find Articles

Article Databases and Indexes

These are the best places to start looking for articles in Earth Sciences. You can also see our full list of Electronic Resources.

GSW - GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of research and communications in the geosciences. Peer-reviewed articles linked and inter-operable with GeoRef.
* Direct export to RefWorks
* Full text articles
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Collection of >3 million references to worldwide geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports & theses. Established by the American GeoSciences Institute (AGI).
* Direct export to RefWorks
* Full text articles
* Click 'Get It at StFX' icon to check for full text
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is a large, multidisciplinary, full-text database. This resource provides access to over 40 of ProQuest's complete databases, with a variety of content types across 175 subjects.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to articles from 1,700 Elsevier journals covering the subject areas of science, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Over 1.5 million scholarly articles relating to scientific research as well as many humanities and social science disciplines.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Huge multidisciplinary index of articles in over 8,500 journals, from 1989 to the present. (Includes: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index)
Springer Link This link opens in a new window
Huge collection of full-text articles from over 1,500 journals in many subject areas (e.g. life sciences, chemical sciences, geosciences, computer sciences, mathematics, physics & astronomy, engineering, environmental sciences, economics).
American Chemical Society This link opens in a new window
Full-text content of the American Chemical Society's 25 journals.
* Direct export to RefWorks
American Physical Society This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from the American Physical Society's research journals. With articles all the way back to the founding of the Physical Review in 1893.
CSP (Canadian Science Publishing) Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the 23 journals published by Canadian Science Publishing. (Formerly NRC Research Press Journals)
* Full text articles
IoP - Institute of Physics Electronic Journals This link opens in a new window
IoP covers 34 physics related journals. Also included are 10 years of full-text coverage and 31 years of abstract coverage.
* Indirect export to RefWorks
* Full text articles
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Huge multidisciplinary index of articles in over 8,500 journals, from 1989 to the present. (Includes: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index)