LibGuides: Indigenous Studies & Resources: Finding Articles

About Indigenous Databases

Below you will find databases that will provide scholarly articles, news articles, as well as magazine articles related to Indigenous studies in addition to multidisciplinary databases. A select list of Indigenous journals is also provided.

For assistance searching these databases or finding articles, contact your liaison librarian for help or the Diversity Outreach & Engagement Librarian: Grace Bourret.

Subject-Specific Databases

Indigenous Studies Portal (USask)
The I-Portal: Indigenous Studies Portal's primary focus is on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on Indigenous peoples of the United States, Australia, Aotearoa – New Zealand, and other areas of the world.
Native Health Database
The Native Health Database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.

Interdisciplinary & General Databases

Web of Science
Huge multidisciplinary index of articles in over 8,500 journals, from 1989 to the present. (Includes: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index)
Wiley Online Library
Over 1.5 million scholarly articles relating to scientific research as well as many humanities and social science disciplines.
SAGE Journals Online
Full-text access to over 460 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.

Journals related to Indigenous Studies

International Journal of Critical Indigenous Studies
The International Journal of Critical Indigenous Studies disseminates scholarship across the Humanities, Social Sciences, Health Sciences, Law and Education in the field of Indigenous Studies.
NAIS (Native American and Indigenous Studies Association)
NAIS publishes the best interdisciplinary scholarship in international Native American and Indigenous Studies.
AlterNative: An International Journal of Indigenous Peoples
terNative publishes scholarly research on Indigenous worldviews and experiences of decolonization from Indigenous perspectives from around the world.
International Indigenous Policy Journal
IIPJ is a peer-reviewed, policy-relevant research journal addressing issues pertaining to Indigenous Peoples throughout the world.
International Journal of Indigenous Health
The International Journal of Indigenous Health (IJIH) was established to advance knowledge and understanding to improve Indigenous health.
Decolonization: Indigeneity, Education & Society
Decolonization: Indigeneity, Education & Society solicits any work purposefully engaged in the decolonization process, regardless of discipline or field, encouraging work that actively seeks undisciplinary connections that work both against and beyond the Western academy.
Affinities a journal of radical theory, culture, and action
Affinities is a web-based journal that focuses on groups, movements, and communities that set out to construct sustainable alternatives to the racist, hetero-sexist, system of liberal-capitalist nation-states
The Journal of Indigenous Wellbeing
The Journal of Indigenous Wellbeing is a peer-reviewed, open-access, scholarly online journal that shares multi-disciplinary Indigenous knowledge and research experience amongst Indigenous health professionals, leaders, researchers and community members.

How to Request Books and Articles through Document Delivery in Novanet

This short video shows how to order books or articles from another library using Novanet, the Library Catalogue.

Search Google Scholar

Don't Pay: Get full text articles in Google Scholar

Look for the “Check for full text @ X” link next to each result. Use that link to get the full text via the Library’s subscriptions.

Configure your Google Scholar account

Link your Google account to StFX, so the “Check for full text @ X” links will always appear – even if you don’t start your search from this page. Go to our customized settings screen and click Save. If you’re logged into a Google account, it will remember that setting from now on.

» What is Google Scholar?
» How do I search Google Scholar?