LibGuides: Open Educational Resources: Humanities

Open Textbooks in the Humanities

Open Book Publishers
The leading independent open access publisher of academic research in the Humanities and Social Sciences in the United Kingdom.
Bookshelves - Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg’s bookshelves are hand-curated collections of eBooks that have similar topics. Bookshelves exist under the following categories: Canada, Classics, Fiction, Fine Arts, History, Language and Literature, Music, Philosophy, Religion, and more.

Those interested in the study and teaching of languages should be sure to check out Project Gutenberg's offerings of titles in over 50 languages, including French, German, Scots Gaelic & Spanish and select few in indigenous languages such as Inuktitut and Ojibwa.

Open sources for Primary Documents

The Primary Sources Subject Guide provides information about finding and using primary sources in various disciplines, such as History, Psychology, English and Indigenous Studies. Below you will find supplementary locations to find open resources which feature primary source materials.

Curationist
Curationist is a free online resource that brings together arts and culture communities to find, share, collaborate, and reimagine cultural narratives. Search, enjoy and discover millions of public domain images of artworks and cultural artifacts from around the world and dating back to the beginnings of civilization.
Digital Archives - Antigonish Heritage Museum
Europeana
The Europeana website provides cultural heritage enthusiasts, professionals, teachers, and researchers with access to Europe's digital cultural heritage. Why? To inspire and inform fresh perspectives and open conversations about our history and culture. To share and enjoy Europe's rich cultural heritage. To use it to create new things. We give you access to millions of items from providing institutions across Europe. Discover artworks, books, music, and videos on art, newspapers, archaeology, fashion, science, sport, and much more.
Getty Open Content
Find selected digitized materials from the Getty Research Institute's collection that are free to view and download. Materials include over 2.5 million digital images of rare and public domain books, photographs, prints, manuscripts, sketchbooks, and archives.
Nova Scotia Virtual Archives
Some of Our Topics: Acadians | African Nova Scotians | Births, Marriages, and Deaths | Bluenose | Built Heritage | Cemeteries | Census | Churches | Communities | Cooking and Foodways | Directories | Gaelic | Genealogy Guide | Government Administrative Histories Online | Halifax Explosion | Land | Maps of Nova Scotia | Mi'kmaq | Mining | Newspapers | Nova Scotia and the Sea | Photographic Collection | Ships and Vessels | Titanic | Tourism | Transcribe | Trouver des ressources en ligne | War of 1812 | First World War | Second World War | Women of Nova Scotia

Open Media in the Humanities

Lit2Go
Lit2Go is a free online collection of stories and poems in Mp3 (audiobook) format. An abstract, citation, playing time, and word count are given for each of the passages. Many of the passages also have a related reading strategy identified. Each reading passage can also be downloaded as a PDF and printed for use as a read-along or as supplemental reading material for your classroom.