LibGuides: Computer Science: Find Articles

Key Databases

Best places to start looking for articles in Computer Science:

ScienceDirect
Full-text access to articles from 1,700 Elsevier journals covering the subject areas of science, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Web of Science
Huge multidisciplinary index of articles in over 8,500 journals, from 1989 to the present. (Includes: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index)
Springer Link
Huge collection of full-text articles from over 1,500 journals in many subject areas (e.g. life sciences, chemical sciences, geosciences, computer sciences, mathematics, physics & astronomy, engineering, environmental sciences, economics).
IEEE Xplore
Search Only. Some open access articles may be available. We do not have a full-text subscription. Articles can be requested through Interlibrary Loan. For more information visit https://stfx.libguides.com/computer_science/ieee
Google Scholar
Index to peer-reviewed papers (articles & abstracts), theses, books, NGO reports. Links out to Google Books, academic publisher websites, universities and subject repositories.

Other Databases

ProQuest One Academic
Four core multidisciplinary products (ProQuest Central, ProQuest Ebook Central, Academic Video Online, and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global), cross-searchable together on the ProQuest platform. Provides unified access to journals, e-books, dissertations, news, and video.
ABI/INFORM Collection
Use this database to explore the business-side of electronic commerce.
PsycINFO
The relationship between computer science and psychology includes cognitive science, human factors, human-computer interaction, the social aspects of computer use and product-design methodology.
PubMed Central
Health and Medicine use technology and informatics for computer-assisted diagnosis, electronic health records, the modelling of mapping of outbreaks and disease occurrence, plus the design and programming of specialized equipment.

* Full text articles
Wiley Online Library
Over 1.5 million scholarly articles relating to scientific research as well as many humanities and social science disciplines.
MathSciNet
Comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940.

* Indirect export to RefWorks
* Full text articles

Open Access Journals

DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Search Google Scholar

Don't Pay: Get full text articles in Google Scholar

Look for the “Check for full text @ X” link next to each result. Use that link to get the full text via the Library’s subscriptions.

Configure your Google Scholar account

Link your Google account to StFX, so the “Check for full text @ X” links will always appear – even if you don’t start your search from this page. Go to our customized settings screen and click Save. If you’re logged into a Google account, it will remember that setting from now on.

» What is Google Scholar?
» How do I search Google Scholar?

Interlibrary Loan

Do you need access to a book or article StFX doesn't have?

Use this Interlibrary lending request form to order books and articles from other libraries.

StFX students, staff & faculty: Authenticate with your webFX/Microsoft 365 credentials.
Community Borrowers: Authenticate with your library card barcode and the password you created after registration.

For more details, visit our Interlibrary Loan information page or watch our short video on how to use Interlibrary Loan.