| Title | Description | Presenter(s) |
| Reimagining the Literature Review: Searching and Evaluating Sources |
This session will provide an overview of how to make the most of available library resources when it comes to building a literature review. Participants will learn how to evaluate sources and will be provided tips on reading sources.
|
Grace Bourret, Diversity, Outreach & Engagement Librarian
|
| Data for Business Searching Using Vivintel |
This session will be useful for anyone engaged in market research of any kind, and will also be useful for those conducting research in the social sciences. This session will introduce participants to VivIntel's data mining tool, and instruct on the creation, analysis and export of custom cross-tabs. |
Samantha Read, Instructional Services Librarian |
| Writing an Effective Annotated Bibliography | Annotated bibliographies play a crucial role in academic research and writing. This workshop covers the essential techniques for creating well-structured and informative annotated bibliographies. | Lindsey Arnold, Learning Skills Instructor, Academic Success Centre |
| Finding Statistics Canada Data: Census & Canadian Community Health Survey | This session will provide you with an overview of data available from the Statistics Canada Website, and how to find Canadian Census Data and health data from the Canadian Community Health Survey. The session will begin with a lecture and end with an interactive tutorial to practice the skills taught. | Samantha Read, Instructional Services Librarian |
| Knowledge Justice: Strategies for more Inclusive Research |
This workshop is designed to help you apply a critical lens to your research practices. Consider diverse forms of knowledge creation and recognize historical value assignments to such knowledge, according to context. Engage in critical reflection of information privilege as way to advocate for social and cognitive justice. Learn to strategically seek out multiple voices and expand your worldview. |
Samantha Read, Instructional Services Librarian |
| Structured Searching: Introduction to Comprehensive Reviews of the Literature in the Health Sciences | This workshop is for anyone preparing to do a comprehensive review of the literature, where a structured, objective approach to searching is important. Although this workshop will not specifically for those in the health sciences-related projects, the database used for demonstrations will be a health science-focused database (Ovid MEDLINE). | Kaitlin Fuller, Health Sciences & Scholarly Communications Librarian |
| Managing References with Zotero |
Citations and referencing giving you headaches? Zotero will help you save and organize your references while you search, and will format citations and reference lists in hundreds of different citation styles. |
Samantha Read, Instructional Services Librarian |
|
Data Survival Skills: Research Data Management (RDM) for Student Research Assistants |
Research data can get messy fast—this session shows you how to stay on top of it. Learn the basics of research data management (RDM), from naming files to keeping data safe and shareable. Whether you're working in a lab, library, or field site, you'll pick up practical skills to make your work smoother and more efficient. |
Margaret Vail, Systems & Data Services Librarian |
|
Literature reviews are the foundation of most academic research. This workshop offers answers to the most frequently asked questions regarding the purpose and characteristics of a literature review, as well as how to organize and synthesis of sources and compose a well-structured and coherent review. |
Lindsey Arnold, Learning Skills Instructor, Academic Success Centre | |
|
This session will ensure that participants have a firm understanding of what distinguishes a primary source from a secondary source. It will provide an overview of the University Archives, and instruct on the best approach to conducting research in this (and any) archival institution. In the second half, participants will be informed of the best databases available through the Angus L. Macdonald library for secondary source research in the humanities. |
Samantha Read, Instructional Services Librarian |