Research: A Step-by-Step Guide

Depending on the database you are using, articles may be displayed in different formats:

• Index: Includes only the article’s citation information (e.g. author, title, date, volume, etc.). Neither a summary, nor the full-text of the article are available.
• Abstract: Includes the article’s citation information and a brief summary of the article's content. Abstracts do not include the full-text article.
• Full-text: Includes an electronic copy of the actual article. Depending on the database, the article may be available in HTML format, .pdf format (displays the article as it originally appeared in the magazine with graphics and pictures), or both.

Article databases provide you with 24-7 access to magazine, journal and newspaper articles via the Internet. To help you identify the most appropriate database for your topic/subject:

• check to see if there is a Subject Guide that covers your subject area or topic.
• search the Library's Databases by subject.

Off-campus access to the article databases requires your StFX username and password.

Note: Off-campus access to article databases is a privilege available only to currently registered students and currently employed faculty and staff.

Use this Journal Locator to find journals, magazines, or newspapers that are available through the Angus L. Macdonald Library in either electronic or print format.

Citation trails are a way of moving backwards and forwards in the research timeline, finding older or newer sources related to the books or articles you are using. There are a number of ways of using citation trails.

• You can check the reference list, works cited list, or bibliography of a research source to find the sources which the authors used in their research. These sources might also be useful for you.
• In Novanet, the library catalogue, you can use citation trail symbols which can be found in some article listings, like this one:

The first symbol, with the arrows pointing up, will lead to other sources which have cited this article. This will not be a complete list of all items which have cited this article; the system only links to sources to which we have access.

The second symbol, with the arrow pointing down, will lead to sources cited in the original article. Again, these will only be the sources to which we have access.

• If you find a source listed in Google Scholar, you can use the "Cited by" tab underneath the listing to find other sources which have cited that source. 
• The database Web of Science includes Citations and References options for most articles, listing the sources which have cited the original article, as well as the sources cited within that article.

If you have any questions about using citation trails, please Ask a Librarian for help.

The most recent issues of our print collection of journals can be found on display in the Current Serials Reading Room on the 1st floor of the Library. Recent back issues can be found in the same location by lifting the shelf. The call number for older issues which have been bound can be found beside the title of the journal. 

Bound journals A-QP are located on the 2nd floor of the Library, and journals QP 300 - Z are located in the Basement.