LibGuides: Women's and Gender Studies: Find Articles

To find journal articles

An easy place to start searching for articles is the library catalogue. Google Schola r is also a good option. If you want to search further, here are a few good academic databases to start with.

Tips:

Try searching a few different databases using a few different combinations of search terms.
If you're having a hard time, get some help from a librarian before you get too frustrated!

SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 460 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Index to the history of the United States and Canada from pre-history to the present. With citations from over 2,000 international journals, plus books, media reviews, dissertations.
* Direct export to RefWorks
* Click 'Get It at StFX' icon to check for full text
* French content
* Spanish content
Gerritsen Collection This link opens in a new window
This database is the definitive cross-cultural resource for information on women's history. It spans more than four centuries and includes over two million pages.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism This link opens in a new window
Approx. 400 articles relating to anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism, historic origins of ideas of race and racism. With biographies of significant theorists, political and social leaders, notorious racists.
Taylor & Francis Journals Online (informaworld) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from journals in: Arts & Humanities; Business & Management; Economics & Econometrics; Education; Geography; Social Sciences.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Over 1.5 million scholarly articles relating to scientific research as well as many humanities and social science disciplines.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
This is the previous 'ProQuest' database in this list. As of March 2021, it is also included in the larger ProQuest Central database.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to articles in over 250 scholarly journal titles in the arts, humanities and social sciences from 40 university and society presses.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of scholarly journals in multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections.
Tip: Use 'Advanced Search' to limit to the subject collections appropriate to your search.

You can also see our full list of Electronic Resources.

Key Journals

There are many valuable journals for Women's and Gender Studies. These journals may be available in print and/or electronically.

Below are just a few titles that may be of interest. You can access any of these by clicking on the linked titles.

Google Scholar

Don't Pay: Get full text articles in Google Scholar

Look for the “Check for full text @ X” link next to each result. Use that link to get the full text via the Library’s subscriptions.

Configure your Google Scholar account

Link your Google account to StFX, so the “Check for full text @ X” links will always appear – even if you don’t start your search from this page. Go to our customized settings screen and click Save. If you’re logged into a Google account, it will remember that setting from now on.

» What is Google Scholar?
» How do I search Google Scholar?